Dark Light

The final characters and stages for Super Smash Bros for Wii U and 3DS are revealed.

We’ve had Lucas, Mewtwo, Ryu and most unexpectedly, Final Fantasy VII’s Cloud; now we can now add Bayonetta to the list of DLC characters for Nintendo’s mascot fighting game.

Also announced on tonight’s final Super Smash Bros broadcast – which was hosted by game director, Masahiro Sakurai – was Fire Emblem Fate’s Corrin and a variety of Mii Fighter costumes based on Final Fantasy VII, Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven StarsWarioWare and the Sonic the Hedgehog series

Cloud, Corrin and Bayonetta will also get their own amiibo figures which will be released sometime in 2016.

The announcement caps a year of support for the game and demonstrates how far Nintendo has come with its digital content strategy. Alongside similarly solid support for Mario Kart 8 and Splatoon, the House of Mario has been remarkably adept at squeezing extra cash from its sadly small Wii U player-base.

However, it’s hard to grumble too much when the content has been so focused on pleasing Nintendo’s committed fanbase.

It’s a shame Shovel Knight never made the grade, mind.

Final Super Smash Bros DLC Release dates

  • Corrin – February 2016
  • Cloud & Midgar Stage – February 2016
  • Mii Costumes – February 2016
  • Bayonetta & Umbra Tower Clock Stage – February 2016

So farewell Super Smash Bros. See you on NX, no doubt.

Related Posts