Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga
Search Menu

Following years of crunch, Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga gets a release date

Dark Light

Warner Bros. Games confirms the release date for Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga amid reports of crunch at developer TT Games.

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will be released on April 5, 2022, publisher WB Games has announced. The intergalactic adventure will come be available on Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, Nintendo Switch, and PC.

The Skywalker Saga is an all-new game covering the nine mainline Star Wars films. It features an expanded roster of 300 playable characters, plus new combat mechanics and character classes. A host of iconic ships – including the Millennium Falcon, Imperial TIE fighters, and X-wings – are available for the game’s dogfight sequences.

Long-time Lego Star Wars fans will also appreciate Mumble Mode, a new option to toggle between modern voice acting and traditional mumbles.

Players can navigate their path through Lucasfilm’s trilogy of trilogies using a holoprojector galaxy map. It’s a neat idea and lets players tailor their experience to a limited degree. Here’s the new gameplay overview trailer.

It looks glorious, we have to admit. Sadly, it’s come at a cost. A new report from Polygon details the extensive periods of crunch experienced by employees at TT Games during the game’s five-year development. It’s a depressingly familiar story and one that sours our excitement for the game.

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga Character Classes

  • Jedi
  • Hero
  • Dark Side
  • Villain
  • Scavenger
  • Scoundrel
  • Bounty Hunter
  • Astromech Droid
  • Protocol Droid

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is available to pre-order now and includes advance access to a Trooper Character Pack.

Follow Thumbsticks on Flipboard, Facebook, Google News, YouTube, and Twitter for daily video game updates.

Related Posts