Connect with us

News

Please Stand By… For Fallout 4?

It looks like it’s finally happened, the end of days. Fallout 4 news is imminent. Very imminent…

Published

on

Please Stand By

It looks like it’s finally happened, the end of days. Fallout 4 news is imminent. Very imminent…

Everybody has been staring intently at Bethesda Softworks in the run up to E3 2015, waiting for Fallout 4 to be confirmed, and they have finally flinched.

The fallout.bethsoft.com subsite changed a few hours ago. It has changed to a black and white, fifties-esque test card, with a rotating clock and a countdown timer. The screen flickers, and it generally looks a bit run down, and it feels every bit like Fallout.

Advertisement

At the time of writing, that countdown has exactly 20 hours and 48 minutes to go. That lands us with some news – presumably of the long-awaited Fallout 4 – at 3pm/15:00 hours tomorrow. That’s 3pm BST folks; or 10am EST, 7am PST, or Midnight in Sydney, Australia if you’re alternately geographically persuaded.

Please Stand By... for Fallout 4?

 

It feels awesome to see the old Fallout style back again, doesn’t it? It’s giving me tingles.

Interestingly, if you view the page source, there’s a custom error text on there too:

Access Error:

PA system failure has occured.
Shutdown of the Masterbrain has been authorized and all sensitive materials have been removed for security purposes.
Please attempt re-access. Have a pleasant day.

In case you missed it, the Masterbrain is a unique robobrain that controls all the other security robots, and can be found roaming the Vault-Tec headquarters in Fallout 3.

There they are again. More tingles. Fallout 4 is finally coming, people!

 

We hate to ask, but...

Thumbsticks has a couple of goals. We want to write interesting articles and cover games that most outlets won't, and we want to give opportunities to new writers and new voices. And right now, with the current state of online publishing? It's tough to meet those goals! We hate to ask, but if you want us to continue writing what others won't, or to keep covering weird indie games, or to be able to give opportunities to new writers – and only if you can afford it – then please consider supporting us on Patreon.

Recommended for you

Tom is an itinerant freelance technology writer who found a home as an Editor with Thumbsticks. Powered by coffee, RPGs, and local co-op.