Independent Games Festival awards
Search Menu

A Short Hike wins Grand Prize at the Independent Games Festival awards

Dark Light

A Short Hike wins the Seumas McNally Grand Prize at this year’s Independent Games Festival awards.

Adam Robinson-Yu’s A Short Hike has won top the prize at this year’s IGF Awards. The awards were originally set to take place during the now-cancelled Game Developers Conference, but were instead broadcast on Twitch in a revamped format.

League of Geeks’ Trent Kusters hosted the awards with some typically humourous pre-recorded inserts, and the winners accepted their awards with straight-to-camera video responses. Given the circumstances, it was a charming and appropriate substitute for a live event.

A Short Hike – which is a deserving winner – also won the publicly-voted Audience Award. Die Gute Fabrik’s Mutazione picked up the award for Excellence in Audio, and Inkle Studio’s Heaven’s Vault was the winner of Excellence in Narrative. Foam Sword’s Knights and Bikes won for Excellence in Art, and Goblin Rage picked up the Best Student Game award for Bore Dome.

You can catch up with the awards via Twitch, just scrub to the 05:31:00 mark. Here is the full list of finalists and winners in each category:

IGF Awards 2020 nominees and winners

Seumas McNally Grand Prize

  • Eliza (Zachtronics)
  • A Short Hike (Adam Robinson-Yu)
  • Untitled Goose Game (House House)
  • Mutazione (Die Gute Fabrik)
  • Slay the Spire (Mega Crit Games)
  • Anodyne 2: Return to Dust (Sean Han Tani & Marina Kittaka)

Excellence in Visual Art

  • Mutazione (Die Gute Fabrik)
  • Knights and Bikes (Foam Sword)
  • Void Bastards (Blue Manchu)
  • Creature in the Well (Flight School Studio)
  • Eastward (Pixpil)
  • Stone Story RPG (Martian Rex / standardcombo)

Excellence in Audio

  • Observation (No Code)
  • Vectronom (Ludopium)
  • Astrologaster (Nyamyam)
  • Knights and Bikes (Foam Sword)
  • Mutazione (Die Gute Fabrik)
  • Untitled Goose Game (House House)

Excellence in Design

  • Katana ZERO (Askiisoft)
  • Lonely Mountains: Downhill (Megagon Industries)
  • Slay the Spire (Mega Crit Games)
  • A Short Hike (Adam Robinson-Yu)
  • Elsinore (Golden Glitch)
  • Patrick’s Parabox (Patrick Traynor)

Excellence in Narrative

  • Mutazione (Die Gute Fabrik)
  • Heaven’s Vault (inkle)
  • Elsinore (Golden Glitch)
  • Wide Ocean, Big Jacket (Turnfollow)
  • Eliza (Zachtronics)
  • LIONKILLER (Sisi Jiang)

Nuovo Award

  • Tales From Off-Peak City Vol. 1 (Cosmo D)
  • Infini (Barnaque)
  • The Space Between (Christoph Frey)
  • Life Tastes Like Cardboard (Demensa)
  • Promesa (Julián Palacios)
  • Song of Bloom (Philipp Stollenmayer)
  • The Longing (Studio Seufz)
  • PAGAN: Autogeny (Oleander Garden)

Best Student Game

  • Orbital Bullet (SmokeStab)
  • A Juggler’s Tale (kaleidoscube)
  • Forgotten (Mutiny Games)
  • Neon Beats (OKYO Games)
  • Bore Dome (Goblin rage)
  • Nothing In Sight (Nothing In Sight Team)

The Independent Games Festival will return as a live event at next year’s Game Developers Conference.

Follow Thumbsticks on Facebook, Google News, Twitter, and Flipboard for the latest gaming news stories.

Related Posts