Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order - New Game+
Search Menu

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order free update adds New Game+ and more

Dark Light

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order gets a raft of new content on the Jedi’s holiest day.

Just in time for May the 4th, Respawn has added a few new features to last year’s hit Star Wars game. Respawn announced the surprise content drop yesterday with a blog post on the official EA website. The update adds New Game+, two new game modes and widely requested accessibility options.

It’s live now. Here’s what’s new:

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order new modes

At the Meditation Points found throughout Fallen Order, players can now access Meditation Training. This will give you access to Combat Challenges and the Battle Grid.

Combat Challenges offers wave-based battles against enemies found throughout the game in a variety of settings. There are 12 levels and, for each, you can achieve three stars. You’ll nab one star for completing the level, two for completing it without healing, and three for finishing the battle without taking a hit. Collect 12 stars and you’ll unlock a trio of new skins for BD-1.

The second addition is, for my money, way cooler. The Battle Grid allows you to select a location, and then build your own fights using enemies drawn from the full game. You can tweak difficulty, the size of the fight and more, and save each encounter you build. You’ll also be able to include opponents that Cal never fought in the main game, like Cal’s Jedi Master, Jaro Tapal.

This update will also include New Journey+. This New Game+ mode will let players go back to the beginning of the game with all their cosmetics unlocked. But, crucially, players won’t be able to keep any unlocked abilities or weapons from their initial playthrough.

“This new feature gives those of you who’ve beaten the game a menu option to start from the beginning, gaining access to Meditation Training game modes (exclusively available in NJ+),” Respawn said.

“You’ll also keep all of their collectibles from a previous playthrough while abilities will have to be relearned. This includes lightsaber parts, kyber crystal colors, and other aesthetic items. And yes, that means you get to keep every poncho. Any chests you’ve opened in your previous playthrough will stay empty, meaning you won’t need to check every chest or open empty ones by accident. Any chests you haven’t opened, though, will remain in place for you and your best droid buddy to find.”

The update also includes a pair of new lightsaber hilts and a Dark Inquisitor uniform for Cal.

Accessibility Options

Importantly, the new update adds some options that Respawn hopes will make the game more accessible for all players. Those are:

  • Option for button-mashing quick-time events to be skipped
  • Needing to hold the Climb button can now be disabled
  • Holding a button to confirm/interact with something can be changed to a button press
  • Text size scaling options have been added

Given that Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order is currently on sale, now seems like a great time to check the game out if you haven’t already. It was one of our favorites of 2019, and some of the best Star Wars content to come out in a Star Wars-packed year.

Related Posts