Assassin’s Creed Syndicate
Search Menu

Austin Wintory announced as composer for Assassin’s Creed Syndicate

Dark Light

Journey composer to score Assassin’s Creed Syndicate.

We must tread carefully, we’ve been here before after all, but here’s some more news that bodes well for the next Assassin’s Creed creed game.

Austin Wintory, the Grammy-nominated composer of Journey and The Banner Saga has composed the score for Assassin’s Creed Syndicate.

The series has long been recognised for intriguing soundtracks that combine period soundscapes with a modern thrust.  Jesper Kyds beautiful scores for Assassin’s Creed II and Brotherhood remain the high water mark – though I’m personally also fond of Lorne Balfe’s contribution to the underrated Assassin’s Creed III.

Wintory’s approach for Syndicate features a dynamic score using a chamber ensemble of players accompanied by incidental winds, trumpets and solo performances by acclaimed instrumentalists Sandy Cameron and Tina Guo.

“I’ve had a long-held passion for the chamber music of the 19th Century; the intensity one can get from this sort of music is quite distinct from the massive force of an orchestra. You’re right in the face of a handful of brilliant players, each exploding with energy. Yet, because of its intimacy it can also sneak up on you in ways a lumbering orchestra can’t. It’s a dramatically tactile experience which seemed practically tailor-made for a tale of Victoria Era sibling Assassins,” Wintory explains.

Even if the game disappoints it will be safe to say that the score will be worth a listen. In fact, Wintory has popped the main theme up on Soundcloud.

Assassin’s Creed Syndicate will be available worldwide for the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One, on October 23, and Windows PC on November 19. You can pre-order the game on Amazon now.

Related Posts