Connect with us


Edith Finch gets best game at BAFTA game awards

In a nice twist, BAFTA awarded What Remains of Edith Finch best game at last night’s awards, in an awards show seemingly more focussed on narrative innovation.




In a nice twist, BAFTA awarded What Remains of Edith Finch best game at last night’s awards.

Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice also won big, sweeping up five awards. It was an awards ceremony that seemed intent on rewarding intimidate narrative, and unique storytelling.

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, notched one award under its belt: Game Innovation. Zelda won game of the year at The Game Awards.


The year’s other Nintendo giant, Super Mario Odyssey, won two awards: Game Design and Best Family Game.

Horizon Zero Dawn won for best Original Property, while Cuphead won the award for best music.

The full list of winners is as follows:

British Academy Games Awards Winners

  • Best Game: What Remains of Edith Finch
  • Original Property: Horizon Zero Dawn
  • Music: Cuphead
  • Game Design: Super Mario Odyssey
  • Evolving Game: Overwatch
  • Narrative: Night In The Woods
  • Game Beyond Entertainment: Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice
  • Debut Game: Gorogoa
  • Family: Super Mario Odyssey
  • Mobile Game: Golf Clash
  • Artistic Achievement: Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice
  • Multiplayer: Divinity: Original Sin 2
  • Audio Achievement: Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice
  • Game Innovation: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
  • British Game: Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice
  • Performer: Melina Juergens as Senua in Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice

Also on Thumbsticks

A request from Thumbsticks

If you like what we do and want to support free, quality games writing, then please consider supporting us via Patreon, buying us a coffee, or subscribing to our newsletter.

Recommended for you

Josh is a freelance writer. You’ll find him banging on about the vertices between games and film and music and poetry and books, but don’t let that put you off. He likes games. He likes writing. He also gets the biscuits in.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *