Connect with us
Advertisement

News

Splatoon 2 Global Testfire Dates Confirmed

Splatoon 2 demo and online multiplayer event coming to Nintendo Switch in March.

Published

on

Splatoon 2 - Nintendo Switch

Splatoon 2 demo and online multiplayer event coming to Nintendo Switch in March.

Nintendo has announced the schedule for the upcoming Splatoon 2 Global Testfire Event for Nintendo Switch.

A demo for the paint-splatting sequel will be available to download next month that will allow players to join battles in six, hour-long sessions over three days at the end of March. The event – which is effectively a timed beta – follows the format set by the first Splatoon title on Wii U, which held its own Testfire event in May, 2015.

Advertisement

Hisashi Nogami, producer on the Splatoon series, has also detailed some of the new features coming to the game which is due for release this summer.

One new addition is Private Battle Spectator View. The new mode allows two players to take on the roles of fully equipped cameramen in a Private Battle, recording the eight player matches from multiple angles and able to broadcast the results online. Who would have thought that Nintendo would ever let us be war zone reporters?

Also coming to the game is LAN Play. Up to 10 docked consoles can be connected via wired LAN for professional tournaments, while eight players can connect via local wireless for general play.

The Global Testfire event will also give players the opportunity to test four weapons, including the new Splat Dualies, plus revised versions of the Splat Roller and Splat Charger.

Splatoon 2 – Global Testfire Dates

Europe

Friday, March 24th

  • 19:00pm – 19:59pm GMT / 20:00pm – 20:59pm CET

Saturday, March 25th

  • 3:00am – 3:59am GMT / 4:00am – 4:59am CET
  • 11:00am – 11:59am GMT / 12:00pm – 12:59pm CET
  • 19:00pm – 19:59pm GMT / 20:00pm – 20:59pm CET

Sunday, March 26th

  • 4:00am – 4:59am BST/ 5:00am – 5:59am CEST
  • 12:00pm – 12:59pm BST/ 13:00pm – 13:59pm CEST

North America

Friday, March 24th

  • 12:00 – 12:59pm PT / 3:00 – 3:59pm ET
  • 8:00 – 8:59pm PT / 11:00 – 11:59pm ET

Saturday, March 25th

  • 4:00 – 4:59am PT / 7:00 – 7:59am ET
  • 12:00 – 12:59pm. PT / 3:00 – 3:59pm ET
  • 8:00 – 8:59pm. PT / 11:00 – 11:59pm ET

Sunday, March 26th

  • 4:00 – 4:59am PT / 7:00 – 7:59am ET

Splatoon 2 will also give us the first opportunity to test the new Nintendo Switch smart phone app. The app will connect to the game and lets players schedule play dates with friends from their Nintendo Switch friend lists or social media accounts. The app also provides voice chat and supports both open and team chat in Splatoon 2.

We hate to ask, but...

Thumbsticks has a couple of goals. We want to write interesting articles and cover games that most outlets won't, and we want to give opportunities to new writers and new voices. And right now, with the current state of online publishing? It's tough to meet those goals! We hate to ask, but if you want us to continue writing what others won't, or to keep covering weird indie games, or to be able to give opportunities to new writers – and only if you can afford it – then please consider supporting us on Patreon.

Recommended for you

Thumbsticks editor and connoisseur of Belgian buns. Currently playing: Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Eastward.

Advertisement

Latest from Thumbsticks

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga
News13 hours ago

Following years of crunch, Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga gets a release date

Warner Bros. Games confirms the release date for Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga amid reports of crunch at developer TT...

Nintendo Switch Online - classic games Nintendo Switch Online - classic games
Guides17 hours ago

Nintendo Switch Online: The big list of NES, SNES, N64 and Genesis games

Nintendo Switch Online includes access to a growing library of classic NES, SNES, N64, and Sega Genesis games. Here’s the...

Death's Door - Xbox Game Pass Death's Door - Xbox Game Pass
News2 days ago

One of last year’s very best games is coming to Xbox Game Pass

Death's Door, Rainbow Six Extraction and Windjammers 2 are among this month's second wave of Xbox Game Pass titles.

Among Us - Roadmap 2022 Among Us - Roadmap 2022
News3 days ago

Among Us 2022 roadmap includes Friends List feature

Innersloth has outlined this year's content and development roadmap for Among Us.

New PlayStation Store releases - PS4 - PS5 New PlayStation Store releases - PS4 - PS5
News3 days ago

New PlayStation Store releases: January 17-21, 2022

Here's a quick roundup of this week's brand new PlayStation Store releases for the PS4 and PS5.

big box lair of the clockwork god collector's edition gradient background big box lair of the clockwork god collector's edition gradient background
Features5 days ago

Why the ‘Big Box’ Lair of the Clockwork God Collector’s Edition is a big deal

We spoke to Dan Marshall about the Lair of the Clockwork God Collector's Edition, and why indie games getting "Big...

New Nintendo Switch eShop releases New Nintendo Switch eShop releases
News5 days ago

New Nintendo Switch releases – January 17-22, 2022

Shadow Man Remastered and Windjammers 2 headline this week's list of new Nintendo Switch eShop releases.

New Xbox One game releases New Xbox One game releases
News6 days ago

New Xbox releases – January 17-21, 2022

Rainbow Six Extraction and Nobody Saves the World headline a busy week for new Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One...

Advertisement