Connect with us
Advertisement

News

Xbox Games Showcase Extended presentation announced

The snappily-named Xbox Games Showcase Extended will follow two days after the main Xbox Games Showcase 2022.

Published

on

Xbox Games Showcase Extended

The snappily-named Xbox Games Showcase Extended will follow two days after the main Xbox Games Showcase 2022.

E3 may be off this year (read: until further notice; possibly forever) but that doesn’t mean there won’t be lots of announcements during (what would’ve been) E3 week.

Most of the big publishers and platform holders are putting together showcase streams. They’re just like E3 presentations, really, except they won’t be cramming a handful of journos (and thousands of very enthusiastic fans) into a theatre to see it live.

Advertisement

One of the first to break cover was Microsoft, announcing a combined Xbox/Bethesda video presentation, the Xbox & Bethesda Games Showcase, for June 12.

Now the gaming giant has gone one further, announcing an Xbox Games Showcase Extended presentation for just two days later, on June 14, 2022.

Xbox Games Showcase Extended – Time and Date

Tuesday, June 14, 2022

  • PDT – 10 a.m.
  • EDT – 1 p.m.
  • BST – 6 p.m.
  • CEST – 7 p.m
  • JST – 2 a.m (June 15)
  • AEST – 3 a.m (June 15)

What’s the point? Why are we having a second presentation so soon after? What could they possibly need to show us that they couldn’t fit in during the main showcase?

According to the press release, the 90-minute presentation “will share new trailers, take deeper looks at the news from the Xbox & Bethesda Games Showcase and speak with some of your favourite game creators”.

Hopefully that means there’ll be fewer awkward live developer interviews as part of the main Xbox Games Showcase presentation. Anything to get the running time down is a good thing in our books.

The Xbox Games Showcase Extended will be broadcast in English, Latin America Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, German, and French, and the live feed will be available with Audio Descriptions and American Sign Language. After the event, recordings of the presentation will be made available in other languages.

Advertisement

Follow Thumbsticks on Twitter and Facebook for more video game news.

We have a favour to ask

Thumbsticks has a couple of main aims. We want to write interesting articles and cover games that most outlets won't, and we want to give opportunities to new writers and new voices. But it's hard to do that in the current financial climate. If you'd like to help us fund these aims, you could always buy the team a cup of coffee.

No, not that Tim Horton. That would be weird. I've never even been to Canada. And I'm pretty sure he's dead? This Tim Horton is a freelance writer and lover of indie games. Painfully shy, powerfully awkward, you won't find me on social media.