Connect with us


Pokémon Sword and Shield expansions coming this year

Pokémon Sword and Shield adding expansions, The Isle of Armor and The Crown Tundra.



Pokémon Sword and Shield expansions
The Pokémon Company / Thumbsticks

Pokémon Sword and Shield is getting two expansions, The Isle of Armor and The Crown Tundra.

During today’s Pokémon Direct, Game Freak announced that Sword and Shield would break from the release model the team has been following since the original Game Boy games. Rather than including expanded content in a new game or games — à la Pokémon Yellow, Crystal, Ultra Sun, etc. — Sword and Shield will be the first Pokémon games to get an expansion pass.

The pass, priced at – $29.99 in the US and £26.99 in the UK – will bring two expansions in 2020. The first, The Isle of Armor, will arrive in June. The second, The Crown Tundra, will launch this fall. The expansion pass is available for preorder today.


Between the Sword and Shield versions, these two expansions will mark the return of more than 200 Pokémon not included in the main game. Each expansion will also introduce a new legendary Pokémon: fighting type Kubfu, which evolves into Urshifu (a fighting/dark type in Sword and a fighting/water type in Shield) in The Isle of Armor, and the psychic/grass type Calyrex in The Crown Tundra.

The Crown Tundra will also introduce a new co-op mode.

Each expansion will also add a new land mass to the Galar region. Interestingly, it seems that both expansions will eschew the fixed perspective used in the the main game’s routes and towns, in favor of the free perspective introduced in the Wild Area.

Follow us on Facebook, Google News, Twitter, and Flipboard for the daily gaming news stories. Visit our new releases page for the latest games on Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One.

We have a favour to ask

Thumbsticks has a couple of main aims. We want to write interesting articles and cover games that most outlets won't, and we want to give opportunities to new writers and new voices. And right now, with the current state of online publishing? It's tough! We hate to ask, but if you want us to continue writing what others won't, or to keep covering weird indie games, or to be able to give opportunities to new writers – and only if you can afford it – then please consider supporting us on Patreon.

Recommended for you

Andrew King is a journalist, critic, poet, stand-up comedian and museum caretaker living in Illinois.


Latest from Thumbsticks