Connect with us

News

Get ready for some big new Pokémon announcements, starting today

It’s going to be a good two weeks for Pokémon fans, with a press conference and new Nintendo Direct confirmed.

Published

on

Pokemon Nintendo Direct Press Conference

It’s going to be a good two weeks for Pokémon fans, with a press conference today, and a new Nintendo Direct confirmed for next week.

First up is a press conference coming later today from The Pokémon Company in Tokyo. The broadcast will detail ‘a number of topics of interest to fans.’

The live stream will likely include some new announcements for mobile phenomenon Pokémon Go. It could also give fans their first look at a brand new smart phone game in development at DeNA, the studio behind Super Mario Run and Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp.

Nintendo has also confirmed it will broadcast a new 15-minute Nintendo Direct next week dedicated to Pokémon Sword and Pokémon Shield.

The games are the first mainline RPGs in the series to be developed from the ground up for the Nintendo Switch. They follow in the footsteps of last year’s Red and Blue remakes: Pokémon: Let’s Go, Pikachu! and Pokémon: Let’s Go, Eevee!

The video will hopefully show off more gameplay, and give players a closer look at the game’s adorable trio of starters: Grookey, Scorbunny, and Sobble.

It will air at 6am PT on June 5, 2019.

Here’s when and where to watch the press conference and Nintendo Direct.

Pokémon Company 2019 press conference

  • Where to watch: Official Pokémon YouTube and Twitch channels
  • When to watch: May 28 – 6pm PT/9pm ET and May 29 – 2am BST/3am CEST

Pokémon Sword and Shield Nintendo Direct

  • Where to watch: Official Nintendo YouTube and Twitch channels.
  • When to watch: June 5 – 6am PT/9am ET/2pm BST/3pm CEST

Both announcements mean that Nintendo will probably focus on other properties at E3 2019, with our bet being the new Animal Crossing game for Nintendo Switch. You can follow all of our E3 coverage right here.

Thumbsticks editor and connoisseur of Belgian buns. Currently playing: Dragon Quest XI, Animal Crossing: New Horizons, and Transistor.