Connect with us


Skeletons take over Sea of Thieves for Halloween

The latest update to Sea of Thieves adds some Halloween chills with Fort of the Damned.



Sea of Thieves - Fort of the Damned

The latest update to Sea of Thieves adds some Halloween chills with Fort of the Damned.

Old Boot Fort is overrun with sinister Shadow Skeletons in the latest content update for Rare’s ocean-faring adventure game, Sea of Thieves. To take back the fort, players must team up and collect all six lights from the Flames of Fate and then deploy them with a Relic Skull to raise hell.

Rare says the update is the biggest to come to the Skeleton Fort feature since Sea of Thieves launched in 2018. And although it’s arriving in time for Halloween, it will remain in the game permanently.


The update also adds a treasure chest of seasonal items, including the Skeleton Cockatoo and Skeleton Marmoset. These spooky pets will disappear from the game in November, so get them while you can. Other additions include the Cutthroat Ship Collection – which is inspired by Rare’s classic fighting game Killer Instinct – and some new emotes.

Changes also come to The Arena. Pirates can now compete in a two-person Sloop Crew and six new contest locations have been added, each with two variations. And, finally, banjos. Thank you, Rare. Thank you.

Sea of Thieves: Fort of the Damned trailer.

Fort of the Damned is available as a free update for all players who have bought Sea of Thieves on Xbox One, Windows 10 PC, or through Xbox Game Pass. Check out the game’s What’s New page to see the complete release notes.

More from Thumbsticks

We hate to ask, but...

Thumbsticks has a couple of goals. We want to write interesting articles and cover games that most outlets won't, and we want to give opportunities to new writers and new voices. And right now, with the current state of online publishing? It's tough to meet those goals! We hate to ask, but if you want us to continue writing what others won't, or to keep covering weird indie games, or to be able to give opportunities to new writers – and only if you can afford it – then please consider supporting us on Patreon.

Recommended for you

Thumbsticks editor and connoisseur of Belgian buns. Currently playing: Paper Mario: The Origami King, Animal Crossing: New Horizons, and Pikmin 3 Deluxe.


Latest from Thumbsticks

Animal Crossing: New Horizons - Isabelle Animal Crossing: New Horizons - Isabelle
News8 hours ago

Nintendo’s Doug Bowser clarifies the future of Animal Crossing after E3 absence

Fans hoping for an update on Animal Crossing: New Horizons at E3 came away disappointed. Worry not, says Doug Bowser.

Bethesda Starfield Bethesda Starfield
News14 hours ago

Bethesda’s Pete Hines ‘sorry’ for frustration that Starfield won’t come to PlayStation 5

In an interview, Bethesda's senior vice president of marketing, Pete Hines, spoke to PlayStation fans, apologising for the frustration that...

Metro Exodus Metro Exodus
News22 hours ago

Metro Exodus Xbox Series X|S and PS5 upgrade detailed

With Metro Exodus about to launch on Xbox Series X|S and PlayStation 5, developer 4A Games has outlined some of...

Coming exclusively to Xbox E3 2021 Coming exclusively to Xbox E3 2021
Features1 day ago

Something was conspicuously absent from the Xbox E3 2021 conference

Master Chief? Present. Forza? Here. Sea of Thieves? Yarr! Bethesda exclusives? You bet. So why did it feel like something...

Control - Xbox Control - Xbox
News1 day ago

Time is running out to get Control for free on PC

Control, Remedy’s dark, strange third-person shooter, is free on the Epic Games Store.

The Medium - Xbox Series X / PlayStation 5 The Medium - Xbox Series X / PlayStation 5
News1 day ago

Xbox Series X exclusive confirmed for PS5 release

The Xbox Series X|S is losing a high-profile exclusive to Sony’s PlayStation 5 console this September.

Rockstar shuttering GTA Online servers Rockstar shuttering GTA Online servers
News2 days ago

Rockstar shuttering legacy online servers for GTA Online, other titles

Rockstar is bringing an end to online services for the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 versions of GTA V, Max...

breath of the wild 2 zelda big hole breath of the wild 2 zelda big hole
Features2 days ago

Did Nintendo really just bench Zelda, again, for Breath of the Wild 2?

Is it still technically fridging if the hero's princess falls down a really big hole? Asking for a friend.