Connect with us
Advertisement

News

Overwatch will be free to play next weekend

Blizzard have announced that hero shooter Overwatch will be free to play on PC next weekend.

Published

on

Overwatch

Blizzard have announced that hero shooter Overwatch will be free to play on PC next weekend.

The Overwatch free weekend will run from July 26–30 and will feature the full lineup of 28 characters, including the newly announced hero, Wrecking Ball.

Quick Play, Custom Games, and the Arcade will be among the included modes, and newcomers to Overwatch can get up to speed with the Tutorial, Practice Range, and Practice vs. AI. tutorial modes.

Advertisement

Players will also be able to level-up as normal, and earn loot and cosmetics for their favourite characters. Any progress made will be carried over if you purchase the full game using the same Blizzard account.

Here are the Overwatch free weekend start times.

Overwatch Free Weekend Start Times

Europe

  • 19:00 BST – July 26
  • 20:00 CET – July 26
  • 21:00 MSK – July 26

The Americas

  • 11:00 a.m. PDT – July 26
  • 12:00 p.m. MDT – July 26
  • 1:00 p.m. CDT – July 26
  • 3:00 p.m. ADT – July 26
  • 3:30 p.m. NDT – July 26
  • 3:00 p.m. BRT – July 26
  • 2:00 a.m. SGT – July 27
  • 4:00 a.m. AEST – July 27
  • 6:00 a.m. NZST – July 27

Asia

  • 2:00 a.m. CST – July 27
  • 3:00 a.m. JST – July 27

To prepare for the free weekend you’ll need to download and install the Blizzard Battle.net desktop application.

If you want to play for free on Xbox One or PlayStation 4, too bad, it’s a PC-only promotion.


More gaming news from Thumbsticks

We have a favour to ask

Thumbsticks has a couple of main aims. We want to write interesting articles and cover games that most outlets won't, and we want to give opportunities to new writers and new voices. And right now, with the current state of online publishing? It's tough! We hate to ask, but if you want us to continue writing what others won't, or to keep covering weird indie games, or to be able to give opportunities to new writers – and only if you can afford it – then please consider supporting us on Patreon.

Recommended for you

Thumbsticks editor and connoisseur of Belgian buns. Currently playing: Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Eastward.

Advertisement

Latest from Thumbsticks

New Nintendo Switch eShop releases New Nintendo Switch eShop releases
News22 hours ago

New Nintendo Switch releases: January 24-29, 2022

Pokémon Legends Arceus and The Artful Escape are among this week’s new Nintendo Switch eShop releases.

New Xbox One game releases New Xbox One game releases
News2 days ago

New Xbox releases: January 24-29, 2022

Here are the new Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One releases you can look forward to in the coming week.

My Friend Peppa Pig My Friend Peppa Pig
News3 days ago

My Friend Peppa Pig is out now on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S

My Friend Peppa Pig is released today for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S.

Pokémon Brilliant Diamond & Shining Pearl Mystery Gift Distribution Codes Pokémon Brilliant Diamond & Shining Pearl Mystery Gift Distribution Codes
Guides3 days ago

Guide: Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl Mystery Gifts and distribution events

Here's the complete guide to Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl Mystery Gifts and distribution events.

Yakuza - Xbox Free Play Days Yakuza - Xbox Free Play Days
News3 days ago

Play three epic crime games for free on Xbox this weekend

Yakuza 3 Remastered, Yakuza 4 Remastered, and Yakuza 5 Remastered are currently free to play for Xbox Live Gold and...

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga
News4 days ago

Following years of crunch, Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga gets a release date

Warner Bros. Games confirms the release date for Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga amid reports of crunch at developer TT...

Nintendo Switch Online - classic games Nintendo Switch Online - classic games
Guides4 days ago

Nintendo Switch Online: The big list of NES, SNES, N64 and Genesis games

Nintendo Switch Online includes access to a growing library of classic NES, SNES, N64, and Sega Genesis games. Here’s the...

Death's Door - Xbox Game Pass Death's Door - Xbox Game Pass
News5 days ago

One of last year’s very best games is coming to Xbox Game Pass

Death's Door, Rainbow Six Extraction and Windjammers 2 are among this month's second wave of Xbox Game Pass titles.

Advertisement